Skip to main content

The requirement to wear a mask at Holland Bloorview for all members of the team, clients and families will not be changing for the foreseeable future. See our statement for more information.

Tom Chau Vice President of Research

Tom Chau

Vice President of Research and Director, Bloorview Research Institute

Tom Chau, PhD, PEng, is Vice President of Research, Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital, Director of the Bloorview Research Institute, and a full Professor in the Institute of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering at the University of Toronto.

As a member of the senior team Tom's accountabilities include: research institute strategy development and implementation; building collaborative research capacity hospital-wide; fundraising with the foundation for the support of strategic priorities; cultivating internal and external research and commercialization partnerships; fostering client and family engagement in research; overseeing research institute administration and infrastructure.

Tom leads the PRISM Lab in the Bloorview Research Institute, where his recent research has focused on the investigation of novel access pathways for children and youth with severe physical impairments. He has published over 190 refereed scientific articles and holds 5 patents. His lab has developed numerous innovations aimed at maximizing possibilities for children. His research has been featured over 150 times in national and international media including CNN, Time Magazine, ITN (UK), Discovery Channel, and Report on Business.

Tom holds a doctorate from the University of Waterloo in the area of pattern analysis and machine intelligence and received post-doctoral training in pediatric rehabilitation engineering as a Duncan Gordon Fellow. From 2004-2014, he held a Canada Research Chair in Pediatric Rehabilitation Engineering and is currently the Raymond Chang Foundation Chair in Access Innovations..

Tom’s contributions to pediatric rehabilitation have been recognized with accolades such as a the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal (2012), Dr. Jonas Salk Award (2016), Meritorious Service Cross (2017), Order of Ontario (2018) and the Governor General’s Innovation Award (2018).